When Was The First T20 Cricket Match Played?

Shashank Banakar

Updated on:

When Was The First T20 Cricket Match Played?

The first Twenty20 cricket match was played on 13 June 2003 between the English counties in the Twenty20 Cup. Surrey Lions defeated the Warwickshire Bears.

When Was The First T20 Cricket Match Played?

Played on June 2003

The first Cricket match was played on June 13, 2003. This was between the English counties in the TwentyCup. The Surrey Lions defeated the Warwickshire Bears.

Between the English counties in the TwentyCup

The first Cricket match was between the English counties in the TwentyCup. This is a cricket tournament which is played between different counties in England.


The Surrey Lions defeated the Warwickshire Bears in the first Cricket match.

Does T20 threaten the future of Test cricket?

While Some people think that T20 Cricket is a threat to Test Cricket, others are happy that the game of Cricket has become more interesting and entertaining.

How is T20 different from Test Cricket?

T20 Cricket is a game of limited overs. In this game, the team which is winning at the end of any period gets a point. The team with more points wins the match. If the winning team exceeds the other team’s total, then it is said to be a no-result.

In T20 Cricket, the total number of overs is limited to 20 overs.

When was 20/20 cricket invented?

Twenty/20 cricket is an international cricket match played between two teams of twenty players each. It was first played in 1954 and has since become one of the most popular forms of sport.

When was 20/20 cricket invented?

The idea of 20/20 cricket is formally proposed in 1932, but the first county-wide competition was held in 2003. Twenty players each make up a team in this type of cricket and matches are played over five days with a result being decided on the final day.

The resulting format changed to T20 in 2011 after it became popular among spectators.

Who scored first T20 in cricket?

Chris Gayle was the first player to score a T20 century, in 2007. The first Twenty20I match took place between Pakistan and Sri Lanka at Dubai International Cricket Stadium in March 2007.

India won the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 tournament in 2007. The format of the T20I game was developed as part of the Cricket World Cup 2009 held in South Africa; it is now considered as its own separate international event with its own ruleset and regulations.

There are currently ten countries that participate in international T20 cricket: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe

Which country is first in T20?

India is first in the T20 rankings, with England second and Pakistan third. This year’s edition of the T20 tournament has seen some exciting cricketing action so far, with many close matches and goals scored throughout.

The final match will be played in Kolkata on April 7th, and we can’t wait to see who comes out on top.

Who invented 50 over cricket?

The 50 over format was invented by the West Indies in 1977. England won the 2018 World Cup with a final score of 5-0, including 4 overs of 50 or more. Australia and New Zealand both won the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup with victories over India and Sri Lanka respectively in semi finals and Finals, respectively (Australia winning by 7 wickets).

In 2011, New Zealand became world champions when they defeated Pakistan in a thrilling finale at Eden Park, Auckland – also featuring four ODIs of 50 or more runs apiece.

Who was the first T20 captain of India?

Virender Sehwag was the first captain of India to lead their T20I side in a series against another country. The match took place in South Africa and India emerged victorious by six wickets.

Sehwag is also a record-breaking captain in one-day international cricket, having led his teams to victory on more than one occasion. Notably, he was also the captain of the Indian team which won the 2007 World Cup under former coach Greg Chappell’s guidance

Who scored century in 20 balls?

There are a lot of great cricket players in the world, but only a few can score centuries in just 20 balls. This is an extremely difficult task and requires excellent batting skills as well as good timing.

Who scored century in 20 balls?
  • Sachin Tendulkar is the only player to score a century in 20 balls or less. He scored 102 runs of just 20 balls at a strike rate of 510 with 4 fours and 14 sixes. This was his fastest century in domestic cricket, and this record was set in 2018.
  • Sachin Tendulkar’s 100th run came off the final ball of the innings, which makes it even more impressive that he managed to score such an immaculate hundred in just 20 balls.
  • His 101st run took him past Brian Lara’s previous record for the quickest century by a batsman in Twenty20 internationals (which he achieved back in 2004).
  • With this centuries, Sachin became only the third batsman after Vivian Richards and Sunil Gavaskar to score 10,000 runs or more in Twenty20 internationals – joining an elite group consisting of some truly legendary names.

Who is the fastest 100 in T20?

David Miller from South Africa holds the joint record for the fastest international Twenty20 century of all time – he took just 35 balls to reach the milestone in a match against the Bangladesh in Potchefstroom in 2017.

RG Sharma from India and S Wickramasekara from the Czech Republic are second and third on this list, respectively. The top three players on this list have all played for teams based outside their home countries. This statistic shows how quickly some players can score when playing T20 cricket

Who is the God of T20 cricket?

Rohit Sharma is the current God of T20 cricket and his batting and bowling abilities have been outstanding in all the formats of the game. He is an excellent ambassador for India both on and off the field, inspiring youngsters to pursue their dreams no matter what obstacles stand in their way.

His batting and bowling abilities have been incredible in all forms of Twenty20 cricket, making him a formidable opponent for any team he plays against. Rohit Sharma has adapted well to playing T20 cricket, demonstrating his skill with every innings that he plays. He is a remarkable cricketer who will be remembered long after retirement from professional sport

When was ODI cricket started?

ODI cricket (formerly known as One Day International) is a form of international cricket played between teams with limited overs resources. The first ODI was played in 1975 and the format has since been adopted by all Test-playing nations.

ODI Cricket Was Started On 5 January 1971

ODI cricket was started on the fifth of January in 1971, at the Melbourne Cricket Ground between Australia and England. Initially, only a few countries were involved but over time, it has grown to become an international sport with twenty-two participating countries currently. The game is played over five innings with a total of fifty overs per side – if these sides are tied after their allotted overs, then a Super Over is played to determine the winner.

To Recap

The first T20 cricket match was played on April 3, 2003.

Photo of author

Shashank Banakar

I am an Indian Sports Analyst at Quant Sports. I have been working in the field of sports analytics for the last 3 years. I started my career with a degree in Economics and MBA from IIM Ahmedabad. It was during my MBA that I got introduced to the world of sports analytics. After graduation, I worked as an assistant to one of India’s most renowned cricket analysts, Sanjay Manjrekar, and then as a research analyst at an investment bank before joining Quant Sports in 2016. As an Indian, Cricket is my passion. LinkedIn

Leave a Comment