Does A Block Count As A Hit In Volleyball?

Victor Holman


After a block is made, the first player who touches the ball after that can hit it. This includes players who make blocks as well as those who were defending against the block.

The second hit of the ball will count as your first hit, no matter where on court you make it. If you touch the ball before somebody else does and then another player makes a ground shot or an airborne pass to you, that’s considered your third hit and ends your chance at scoring points for that possession (unless someone screens or picks up the rebound).

Be sure to keep track of which player touched down first so everyone knows their role in scoring.

Does A Block Count As A Hit In Volleyball?

It is important to avoid penalties, as they can lead to an opponent scoring points. The first hit of the ball after a block may be executed by any player, including the player who made the block, and is considered the first of the three hits.

Pay attention to where your teammates are positioned on defense in order to make optimal plays. Sometimes it’s better not to risk taking a shot than trying something that might result in a penalty or rebound for your opponent. Always keep track of how many blocks you have had throughout the game – this will give you an idea about how successful you were at defending against offensive attempts.

A Block Does Not Count As One Hit

A block does not count as one hit in volleyball. If a player receives a ball and blocks it, the opposing team will have to re-shoot from where they originally received the ball from.

The only way for an opponent to score is by hitting the ball over the net or through the defender’s body into their court – which means that locks play an important role in how Volleyball is played.

There are different rules depending on what level of volleyball you are playing at; however, all levels require some form of blocking in order to allow your teammate time to set up for an attacking shot.

In professional competition, each side plays two sets with 16 blocks per side – so even if you don’t make any blocks yourself, you still have a chance of winning.

The First Hit Of The Ball After A Block May Be Executed By Any Player, Including The Player Who Made The Block, And Is Considered The First Of The Three Hits

If a player touches the ball before it goes out of bounds following a block, that player may attempt to hit the ball as if it were an ordinary shot. A block is considered complete when either all players on the attacking side have touched or passed the ball and no defender is between them and the opponent’s goal, or any player on the defending side has contacted an opponent who was in possession of the ball prior to being blocked.

After making contact with an opposing player while executing a block, a rebounder cannot be forced into stopping or holding their position by an opponent; they must instead go after rebounds according to normal play rules. The first hit of the ball after a block is executed by any player, including the one who made the original block, and is considered the first of three hits in volleyball—a point can be scored at this time just like any other part of gameplay.

Although technically legal under Volleyball rulebooks, intentionally hitting your teammate during such an event often results in penalties for both teams.

Is a block considered a hit?

A block is a popular tennis term that means to hit the ball with such force that it passes over the net and out of play on your opponent’s side of the court.

As long as you follow the basic rules, touching a boundary line won’t cause any penalties for you or your opponent. You should always play from your original position on the court in order to keep control of where the match is played.

Balls served out of court are considered hits by both players, so be prepared to return fire if needed.

Why doesnt a block count as a hit volleyball?

In volleyball, when a player blocks an opponent’s serve, it doesn’t actually count as a hit. The block is just a way to stop the other team from scoring points.

  • In volleyball, a block is considered one of the three hits that a player can make in order to score points. If your hands are not above the net when you hit the ball, then it is counted as part of your hit set and will result in points being scored by your team.
  • Blocks are recorded by the side of the opponent who was defending when you made contact with the ball. This means that if you block an opposing player’s shot but they still manage to serve the ball, their side will be credited with a point instead of yours.
  • Blocks do not count as hits if they occur while your hand(s) are not above or beyond (above-the-net) at all times during play…regardless of whether or not another person is trying to stop you from making contact with the ball.

Does a block count as a hit in beach volleyball?

In beach volleyball, a block is when a player blocks an opponent’s serve. A hit is counted only if the ball makes contact with someone or something outside of the playing area.

If a player blocks an opponent’s service and the ball bounces off their body out of bounds, that doesn’t count as a hit.

  • In beach volleyball, a block does count as a team hit.This means that if one player blocks another player’s serve, the blocking player gets two points.
  • There is no point system used to score points in beach volleyball; instead, games are won or lost by winning or losing sets of three consecutive rallies after the initial scoring period has ended.
  • When players are serving, if one player blocks another player’s serve, that blocking player gets two points. However, there is no point value assigned to this type of block play in beach volleyball – it is simply an important part of the game and can significantly impact the outcome of a match.
  • In indoor volleyball, while there may be some similarities between how “block” and “hit” are defined in both sports (e .g., both involve an opposition party being stopped from executing their intended action), there is actually a big difference between them: Hits in indoor Volleyball result in possession changes (i .e., leads for your team).

Blocks do not result in possession changes – they only stop the other side from hitting the ball again immediately (regardless of who attained control over it originally).

Can you block a volleyball and then hit it?

If you block an out-of-bounds ball, it is a penalty and the opposing team will gain one point. You can use your body or arm to block the ball – whichever works better for you.

Make sure to call blocking fouls when necessary so that the game remains fair for both teams. Be prepared to take on any challenge while playing volleyball.

What is an illegal hit in volleyball?

An illegal hit in volleyball is when a player makes contact with the ball outside of the boundaries that are set for that particular play. This can be punishable by a penalty point, loss of possession or even ejection from the game.

Slapping the Ball

An illegal hit in volleyball is when a player slams the ball with their hand. This is an offense that will result in a point for their opponent and may lead to a penalty or game loss.

Bumping the Ball with Two Separated Hands (Hands Must Be Together)

When two players bump the ball at the same time, it’s considered an illegal hit. This can be penalized by your opponent, who will then be able to score points on you.

Carrying the Ball

It’s not allowed to carry the ball while playing volleyball – this includes holding onto it as well as carrying it behind your back or between your legs.

If you’re caught doing this, you’ll likely receive a penalty from your opponent and could even lose possession of the ball altogether.

Palming The Ball

Pivoting your arm so that one palm is directly above or below where you are holding onto the ball constitutes an illegal hit in volleyball – if called upon by an opposing player, this would give them permission to spike (hit)the ball overhand into play without having to bounce it off another surface first.

What is an illegal block in volleyball?

An illegal block is when a player jumps up to block an opponent’s serve, but their hand or foot crosses the line that separates the playing court from the spectators.

This is a violation of the rules and can give your opponent an easy point.

To Play a Ball Above the Net, You Must Attack or Block It

To play a ball above the net, you must attack or block it.

If an opponent obstructs your path to the ball, it is an illegal block and punishable by a penalty point.

An Opponent Cannot Obstruct Your Path to the Ball

If an opponent attacks or blocks the ball into you while you are reaching above the height of the net, it is an illegal block and is punishable by a penalty point.

If an Opponent Attacks or Blocks the Ball Into You While You Are Reaching Above The Height of the Net, It Is An Illegal Block

To Recap

A block is considered a hit in Volleyball, and so if your opponent blocks your ball, it counts as a hit. If you’re the server and receive a block, you must then pass to one of your teammates before returning to defense; this is called serving out.

Photo of author

Victor Holman

I am a sports analytics expert with an extensive background in math, statistics and computer science. I have been working in the field for over 10 years, and have published several academic articles. I am a sports analytics expert with an extensive background in math, statistics and computer science. I have been working in the field for over 10 years, and have published several academic articles. I also run a blog on sports analytics where I share my thoughts on the latest developments in this field. But I specially love Volleyball. LinkedIn

Leave a Comment