Can A Kicker Catch His Own Punt?

John Rizzo


A punt team can catch and recover a ball if they are behind the neutral zone line of scrimmage. They must also be behind the line in order to advance the ball, which is called a fair catch.

If a punt team fails to meet these requirements, they may get penalized for illegal touching or unsportsmanlike conduct penalties. Be aware that there are different rules for punting from inside your own endzone versus from outside it – make sure you know them before each game.

Knowing how to punt correctly will give your team an advantage on offense by keeping the other team off balance.

Can A Kicker Catch His Own Punt?

To catch or recover a punt, the punt team must be behind the neutral zone line of scrimmage. They then advance the ball by running with it until they get within five yards of their opponent’s goal line before passing it back to the punter.

If they are successful in catching or recovering the ball, they must hold on to it until after their own half-yard line and then try to score an offensive touchdown if possible. Penalties for illegal touching or advancing beyond the neutral zoneline can lead to turnovers on special teams plays and can affect whether or not a team is able to put points on the board during regulation play.

Make sure you know all of your eligibility rules when playing on punt returns as well as offense and defense at scrum time so that you can have an advantage over your opponents.

Punt Team Can Catch/Recover Ball

Yes, a kicker can catch his own punt if the punting team makes a good effort to recover the ball. If the kicking team is able to get possession of the ball before it goes out of bounds, they have an opportunity to score points by returning it into their opponent’s end zone.

However, if the kickers are not able to make a clean catch, then the punting team will be responsible for recovering and attempting to return it into their own territory again. In order for this play to work successfully, both teams must execute their game plan flawlessly in order for there to be any chance of success.

The key factor that determines whether or not this play will succeed is how well each individual player executes his assigned task at hand.

Must Be Behind Neutral Zone Line of Scrimmage

Kickers on both teams must be behind the neutral zone line of scrimmage when making a catch in order to be considered legal (unless they are out of bounds).

If an opposing player crosses into this area before or after the catch is made, it will result in a penalty called “illegal touching” and the kicker may lose their point attempt.

Players can still receive touchbacks if they are beyond the neutral zone but within 3 yards of the line of scrimmage at kickoff or during a punt return, provided that they remain inside these boundaries at all times throughout their possession.

Be sure to keep your eyes open for illegal touching penalties – they can seriously impact your team’s chances of scoring points. Always remember: stay behind the Neutral Zone Line.

Advance Ball

Yes, an advance ball can be caught by a kicker if they are quick and agile. It’s important for the kicker to have good technique when catching the advance ball so that it doesn’t go out of bounds or into another player’s territory.

The best way to improve their chances of making an advance catch is to practice regularly with a kicking coach or role model. If you make an advance catch, you’re more likely to score points because your team will be in better position on offense next time around.

Be sure not to over-think the advanced ball; just take care of it and try not let it get away from you.

Can punter recover their own punt?

Yes, punters can often recover their own punt if it goes out of bounds. The rules for recovering a punt state that the ball must be in touch with the ground before any player from either team is allowed to pick it up. If this happens and you are within your own half-way line, then you are allowed to get hold of the ball and take off towards your end zone.

If the punter recovers his own kick, then the onside player of that team should take possession and attempt to score. If another onside player of that team should do so, then the other team will have an opportunity to try and score off of the ensuing free kick.

What happens if you catch your own punt behind the line of scrimmage?

If you catch your own punt behind the line of scrimmage, the ball will be dead and there will be no play. The opposing team can take possession by picking it up at their own 20-yard line or try to kick a field goal.

  • If a player from the kicking team is first to touch the ball after it crosses the line of scrimmage, “illegal touching” will occur and the receiving team gains possession at the spot where illegally touched occurred.
  • The rules for catching punts are simple: you must have both feet inbounds when you catch it. If either foot is out of bounds when you make contact with the ball, then it’s an illegal catch and your opponent gets to keep possession of the punt.
  • Punters who accidentally kick their own ball behind their own line of scrimmage are usually not penalized because they were trying to avoid a penalty on their team by making an impossible catch (i.e., they trapped or picked up their own punt). However, if there was intentional contact made with the ball by another player before it crossed over into their territory, that would be considered interference and could result in a penalty being called against that person(s).

Can the kicking team catch the ball in the air?

Yes, the kicking team can catch the ball in the air if they kick it at least 10 yards beyond the kicking line. Do not touch a member of the kicking team while they are catching or attempting to catch the ball.

Practice makes perfect. The more kicks you make, the better your chances of being able to successfully catch and kick a ball in high-traffic areas like stadiums and arenas.

What happens if you catch your own punt?

If you catch your own punt, it means that you have caught the ball yourself and are now playing with it in your hands. This can be a lot of fun if you know how to play well, but it can also be dangerous if you don’t know what you’re doing.

The Ball Is Caught

If you catch the ball, it’s over. The play ends and your team goes on offense with 1st down at that spot.

Play Ends

When the ball is caught by someone other than the player who threw it, play automatically ends and the opposing team goes on offense. This can happen if a defender catches a fumble or interception, for example.

Ball Marked at Spot Where It Was Catched

When you catch the ball, make sure to mark where you caught it so that everyone knows where the point of origin is for this particular possession (or series of possessions). If there’s any doubt about which side was in possession when you made your Catch , use white chalk to draw an imaginary line across mid-field.

Opposing Team Goes On Offense With t Down At That Spot

The opposition will now have first down at their original starting spot – even if they didn’t actually touch the ball during this particular possession. They’ll be able to attempt another offensive play from that position without having to worry about being penalized again (unless they go backwards).

Game Over

Can you punt twice on the same play?

In football, a punt is a type of kick that is used to stop the other team from advancing down the field. A punt can also be used as part of a special play called “Punt Return.”

If you are on offense and want to punt the ball back to your opponent, there are specific rules that must be followed in order for it to count as an official punt. First, you must place the ball on or behind your line of scrimmage. Second, you must touch the ball before someone else does (this is known as a touchback). Finally, you cannot advance beyond your original line of scrimmage after punting.

If you punt twice on the same play, then the NFL will penalize you for an illegal kick. This penalty results in a 10-yard loss of yardage and gives your opponent possession of the ball at their own 20-yard line.

Are you allowed to catch your own punt in football?

You’re not allowed to catch your own punt in football – the receiving team starts with the ball from the location of the penalty occurred. Catching a punt from the opposition is considered legal touching and doesn’t incur a penalty.

If you intercept a punt, it’s still technically yours to keep as long as you touch down before being tackled by an opposing player or scoring on any other play (i.e., extra point). If you are penalized for catching a punt, it’s always best to give possession back to your opponent so they can continue their drive.

To Recap

Kickers are a very important part of any football team, but sometimes they can make errors that cost their team the game. Kickers have to be able to make quick decisions and react quickly in order to put the ball where it needs to go.

Sometimes these quick reactions lead them into difficult situations, but if they learn from their mistakes, kickers can become one of the most valuable members of any football squad.

Photo of author

John Rizzo

I am a professional rugby player in the Washington DC-Baltimore area. I have been playing rugby for over 10 years and have had the opportunity to play in many different countries. I am also a coach for both youth and adult rugby teams. I graduated from Johns Hopkins University with a degree in Sports Management and Marketing. I am currently working on my MPA from American University and plan to pursue this career path after graduating next year. LinkedIn

Leave a Comment